Professor Kai Lei


Kai Lei, born in October 1982

Research Interests

Cell Free Protein Synthesis, Synthetic Biology, Membrane Proteins, Aquaporins, GPCRs, liquid handling/lab automation

Educational Background

PhD, Biology, Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany, 2012

MA, Microbiology, Zhejiang University, 2008

Research Projects inrecent years

1. Haiyang Jia, Michael Heymann, Frank Bernhard, Petra Schwille, and Lei Kai*. Cell-free protein synthesis in micro compartments: building a minimal cell from biobricks. New biotechnology (2017) 39: 199-205

2. Uehlein, Norbert, Lei Kai, and Ralf Kaldenhoff. Plant aquaporins and CO 2. In Plant Aquaporins, pp. 255-265. Springer, Cham, 2017.

  1. Lei Ding, Cuimin Gao, Yingrui Li, Yong Li, Yiyong Zhu, Guohua Xu, Qirong Shen, Ralf Kaldenhoff, Lei Kai, and Shiwei Guo. The enhanced drought tolerance of rice plants under ammonium is related to aquaporin (AQP). Plant Science 234 (2015): 14-21.

  2. Lei Kai, Ralf Kaldenhoff. A refined model of water and CO2 membrane diffusion: Effects and contribution of sterols and proteins. Scientific Reports, (2014) 4: 6665

  3. Lei Kai, Erika Orbán, Erik Henrich, Davide Proverbio, Volker Dötsch, Frank Bernhard. Co-translational stabilization of insoluble proteins in cell-free expression systems. Methods in Molecular Biology, In press

  4. Xu Zhang, Jiazhang Lian, Lei Kai, Lei Huang, Peilin Cena, Zhinan Xu. Enhanced functional expression of aquaporin Z via fusion of in situ cleavable leader peptides in Escherichia coli cell-free system. Enzyme and Microbial Technology, (2014) 55: 26-30

  5. Christian Roos, Lei Kai, Stefan Haberstock, Davide Proverbio, Umesh Ghoshdastider, Yi Ma, Slawomir Filipek, Xiaoning Wang, Volker Dötsch and Frank Bernhard. High Level Cell-Free Production of Membrane Proteins into Nanodiscs. Methods in Molecular Biology (2014) Volume 1118, pp 109-130

  6. Ralf Kaldenhoff, Lei Kai, Norbert Uehlein. Aquaporins and membrane diffusion of CO2 in living organisms. BBA-General Subjects, (2013) 1840 (5): 1592-1595


2018 Distinguished Professor of Jiangsu Province

2009-2012 Marie Curie ITN fellowship